Pine Nut Porridge (잣 죽)

So my mother used to make pine nut porridge for me when I was sick (and boy, have I been sick this week, I can barely keep anything down D:), so it’s something I always crave whenever I’m not feeling well. Usually I don’t actually have pine nuts on me (unfortunately, they can get pretty expensive), however, I recently bought a whole bag on sale for a couple of dollars. I shall now celebrate by showing you how to make pine nut porridge.

It’s a bit time consuming to make, but SO simple. This recipe makes 2 servings, or one very large bowl.

Approximate time: Less than 2 hours total (closer to an hour and a half)

Pine Nut Porridge
1 cup pine nuts
1 cup rice
2 cups water
1/4 tsp salt

First, let the rice soak in the 2 cups of water for an hour.

In a blender, puree the pine nuts, soaked rice, and water in the blender, until you have a milky and thick consistency. (I didn’t want to bring out my blender since my food processor was right in front of me, so I strained the rice and pureed the pine nuts and soaked rice together. I then added a fresh 2 cups of water to the pot in the step below.)

Pour the blended mixture into a sauce pot (sorry for the lighting, our kitchen is really dark). On medium heat, slowly bring to a boil. In the first few minutes, stir constantly to prevent the rice from clumping. Season the mixture with salt, and after that let the porridge simmer 15 to 20 minutes. Stir occasionally to check consistency.

And you’re done. If you would like, add more salt to taste. Enjoy your nutty, thick porridge of deliciousness.

– Kellie

2 thoughts on “Pine Nut Porridge (잣 죽)

Leave a Reply

